Vehicles eligible for the 2020 NACTOY awards announced

The North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year awards has released the list of vehicles eligible for its 2020 awards, with 23 different automotive brands featured.

A total of 46 models will vie for three vehicle categories.

"The competition is wide open across all three categories this year, with both premium and mainstream brands duking it out in the car and utility classes and an unusually high number of trucks," NACTOY Secretary/Treasurer Kirk Bell said.

The vehicles, which must be all-new or substantially new and must be available at dealerships before the end of the year, have been selected by a panel of 50 jurors from print, online, radio and broadcast media across the United States and Canada.

Three finalists per category will be announced at the LA Auto Show in November.

The 46 models for the 2020 NACTOY awards are:

19 models selected for the Car of the Year
BMW 3 Series
BMW 7 Series / Alpina B7
BMW 8 Series
Cadillac CT5
Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
Ford Mustang Shelby GT500
Hyundai Sonata
Kia Soul
Mercedes-AMG GT 4-Door Coupe
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class
Nissan Versa
Polestar 1
Porsche 911
Subaru Legacy
Toyota Supra
Volkswagen Arteon

22 models for the Utility of the Year
Audi E-Tron
Audi Q3
Cadillac XT6
Chevrolet Blazer
Ford Explorer
Ford Escape
Honda Passport
Kia Telluride
Hyundai Palisade
Lexus UX
Lincoln Aviator
Lincoln Corsair
Mercedes-AMG GLC-Class
Mercedes GLE-Class
Mercedes GLS-Class
Mercedes GLB-Class
Mercedes EQC-Class
Range Rover Evoque
Subaru Outback
Volvo V60 Cross Country

5 models for the Truck of the Year
Chevrolet Silverado Heavy Duty
Ford Ranger
GMC Sierra Heavy Duty
Jeep Gladiator
Ram Heavy Duty